Uber makes its safety tools easier to access and customize

Plenty of women who use rideshare services regularly send details of their trips to loved ones and take other precautionary measures, especially at night. Now, Uber is putting all its safety tools in one place, making them easier to access and allowing users to customize them so that they’d automatically switch on. In the app’s new safety preferences section, passengers can choose to schedule when its safety tools should automatically get activated, whether it’s for every ride after 9PM, on the weekends or only for rides that begin within 50 meters of a bar or a restaurant. They can also ensure that Uber’s safety features are active for every single ride they take if they want to. 
One of the tools passengers can activate in the new portal is audio recording, which the company introduced some time ago. Uber assures users that those recordings are encrypted and can’t be accessed by anyone, even by the company. However, if something happens during the trip, passengers can choose to report an incident and share the recording with Uber for proof. Users can also switch on PIN verification so that they can be sure they’re getting into the right vehicle, as well as RideCheck, which helps Uber detect if a ride goes off-course or stops unexpectedly. Finally, there’s Share My Trip, allowing passengers to automatically share their live location and trip details with trusted contacts. 
At the moment, the new safety preferences page is only live in the US, Canada and Latin American countries, but the company plans to expand its availability to more regions. To access the new portal, users can go to Settings and find a link to it or tap the Safety Toolkit blue shield while on a trip and then tap “Set up safety preferences.”

This article originally appeared on Engadget at https://www.engadget.com/uber-makes-its-safety-tools-easier-to-access-and-customize-123036849.html?src=rss